2929 3rd Ave N, Ste 300, Billings, MT 59101 - (406) 252-2550

RMTIRB Members

Below is a list of current members of the Rocky Mountain Tribal Institutional Review Board.


Vernon Grant, PhD (Blackfeet)
Assistant Research Professor
Center for American Indian and Rural Health Equity
Montana State University


RMT-IRB Co-Chair



RMT-IRB  Coordinator

Karen Manzo, PhD, MPH
711 Central Ave, Suite 220
Billings, Montana 59102
Phone: (406) 252-2550; 304-368-8337 (c)
Email: IRB.Coordinator@rmtlc.org


Medical Doctors




William L. Freeman, MD, MPH, CIP
Northwest Indian College, Bellingham, WA


Jonathan Gilbert, MD, Billings Area IHS

Billings, MT


Behavioral Health Scientist




Angela Russell, JD, MSW (Crow)



Judy Antell, PhD (Minnesota Chippewa)
Former Director, High Plains American Indian Research Institute (HPAIRI), University of Wyoming



Pharah Morgan, MS, MPH (Navajo, San Ildefonso Pueblo, & Santo Domingo Pueblo )
Project Director, Rocky Mountain Tribal Leaders Council


Community Members

Jodi Bulltail (Crow)
Finance, Rocky Mountain Tribal Leaders Council

Leslie Racine (Ft. Belknap, Gros-Ventre)
Program Analyst, Billings Area IHS



Sonya Big Leggins (Ft Peck Assiniboine & Sioux)
Program Cordinator, Rocky Mountain Tribal Leaders Council

Francine C. Gachupin, PhD, MPH (Jemez Pueblo)
Professor, University of Arizona-Tucson

Ramey Growing Thunder (Dakota, Navajo)
Director, Tribal Historical Preservation Office and Cultural Resource Department

Byron Larson (Northern Cheyenne)
Xanovea, Inc

Shannon Plainfeather-Bradley (Crow)
Assistant Executive Director, Crow Health and Human Services

Dawn Oleyte, RN (Assiniboine)
Billings Area IHS Nurse Consultant

Kelly Webb (Eastern Shoshone)
Eastern Shoshone Recovery Program