2929 3rd Ave N, Ste 300, Billings, MT 59101 - (406) 252-2550

Walden & Pallone Announce Bipartisan Task Force to Examine Indian Health Service

May 21, 2017

WASHINGTON, DC – House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Greg Walden (R-OR) and Ranking Member Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ) today announced the creation of the Indian Health Service (IHS) Task Force. Reps. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK) and Raul Ruiz (D-CA) will co-chair the bipartisan task force, which is composed of 14 members both on and off the committee.

The working group will review the health care delivery system for American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/AN), inform policy makers on the current state of IHS and public health programs that serve the AI/AN population, and identify ways to ensure IHS is best serving the needs of those who rely on it.

“The Indian Health Service is an important program that often flies under the radar. It’s imperative that members have a thorough understanding of the IHS and the work it does,” said co-chairs Mullin and Ruiz. “We look forward to beginning our work to raise awareness for this important issue among our colleagues on both sides of the aisle and identify ways we can work together.”

“This is an important opportunity for a wide-ranging group of House Republicans and Democrats to learn more about the work the IHS does in our very own communities,” said Chairman Walden and Ranking Member Pallone. “We look forward to kicking off our work this week to explore ways to ensure American Indian and Alaska Native communities have access to quality health care.”

The following members will serve on the task force:

  • Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), co-chairman
  • Rep. Raul Ruiz (D-CA), co-chairman
  • Rep. Greg Walden (R-OR)
  • Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ)
  • Rep. Chris Collins (R-NY)
  • Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-ND)
  • Rep. Gregg Harper (R-MS)
  • Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK)
  • Rep. Kristi Noem (R-SD)
  • Rep. Debbie Dingell (D-MI)
  • Rep. Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM)
  • Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OR)
  • Rep. Dan Kildee (D-MI)
  • Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN)

Last modified: May 21, 2017