GHWIC Logo

“We look within to health and unite outwardly as we journey towards good health and wellness.”

 

 

 

 

Meet the Team!

Left to Right:  Anna, Arlana, Shawna, Sonya, Katie, Sarah

 

Get In Touch:

 

Project Director: Shawna Cooper                          shawna.cooper@rmtlc.org

Program Coordinator: Sonya Bigleggins              sonya.bigleggins@rmtlc.org

Tobacco Coordinator: Arlana Farwell                   arlana.farwell@rmtlc.org

Evaluation Specialist: Anna Schmitt                      anna.schmitt@rmtlc.org

Food Sovereignty Coordinator: Katie Keith           katie.keith@rmtlc.org

Health Literacy Coordinator: Sarah Hall                sarah.hall@rmtlc.org

 

Learn More About GHWIC:

 

Priority Areas and/or Areas of Focus

The Good Health and Wellness in Indian Country project promotes a holistic approach to chronic disease management and prevention.  We provide training to Tribes to increase knowledge, awareness, strategies, and skills to promote culturally effective chronic disease management and prevention among Tribal members.

Program Goals

  • Goal One: Health & Wellness
    Contribute to solutions that increase the number of American Indians who are successfully managing their chronic health condition
  • Goal Two: Capacity Building & Training
    Increase the skills of health care providers to promote effective cross-cultural assistance for patients managing chronic disease
  • Goal Three: Coalition Building
    Assist in the strengthening of collaborations and communication between Indian Health Service, Tribal Health Departments, Diabetes Departments, Tribal Leaders, Etc.
  • Goal Four: Prevention
    Reduce the prevalence of chronic disease among Tribal members by drawing on the strengths of the community

 

MT tobacco quite line logo

          AIQuitLine_1

Strategies and Approaches

The GHWIC program uses a socioecological model to reach project goals through the following strategies:

  • Group Lifestyle Balance
  • Tribal Approach to Health & Wellness
  • Peer to Peer Support
  • Health Education
  • Nutrition Support
  • Physical Activity Support
  • American Indian Life Skills
  • Traditional Native Games
  • Strategies for Coping with Stress
  • Self-Care
  • Commercial Tobacco Prevention & Management
  • Coalition Building
  • Social Marketing and Community Mobilization
  • Policy Implementation and Enhancement

 

Past Events and Trainings

                                  

Key Partners

The following tribes are active participants in the GHWIC program:

CORE:

  • Blackfeet Nation
  • Eastern Shoshone Tribe

TOBACCO:

  • Assinibone Sioux Tribes of Fort Peck Reservation
  • Blackfeet Nation
  • Chippewa Cree Tribe of Rocky Boy Reservation
  • Crow Tribe
  • Eastern Shoshone Tribe of the Wind River Indian Reservation
  • Gros Ventre and Assinibone Tribes of Fort Belknap Reservation
  • Little Shell Chippewa Tribe
  • The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of Flathead Reservation
  • Northern Cheyenne Tribe
  • Northern Arapaho Tribe of the Wind River Indian Reservation

 

Resources

2018 Spring Newsletter

2018 Winter Newsletter

2017 Fall Newsletter

2017 UIHI Regional Brief